2029 times

The Republic of Liberia became party to the Swakopmund Protocol on the Protection of Traditional Knowledge and Expressions of Folklore within the framework of the African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO) on October 25, 2016 (the date on which the Instrument of Ratification was deposited with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Zimbabwe).

The ratification of the Swakopmund Protocol by the Republic of Liberia brings the number of Member States party to the Protocol to eight (8).

The Protocol was adopted in Swakopmund, Republic of Namibia by a Diplomatic Conference on August 9, 2010, and came into force on May 11, 2015.

The Protocol aims to protect the overall traditional knowledge and folklore of Africa to ensure that it is properly utilized for the welfare of its people.